

## STANTON COMMUNITY SCHOOLS

1007 KINGWOOD P.O. BOX 749 STANTON, NE 68779 402-439-2250 FAX 402-439-2270

May 11, 2015

The complete text of the Minutes, Resolutions, and Policies are on file at the Stanton Community Schools Superintendent's Office and are available for public inspection during regular business hours. Availability of the agenda was communicated in a posted and/or advertised notice and current copy of the agenda was maintained as stated in the notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public. Abbreviations: AMPVF- All members present voted for, MC- Motion carried.

A regular meeting of the Stanton Community Schools Board of Education was convened in open and public session on Monday, May 11, 2015 at 6:57 p.m. in the High/Middle School Library, at the Stanton Community High School, 1007 Kingwood, Stanton, Nebraska. The meeting was called to order by President John Mandl.

Roll call was taken and the following board members were present: Wendy Benson, Bret Burtwistle, John Mandl, Shad Pohlman, Kirk Van Pelt and Lisa Wilke. Also present were Michael Sieh, Mary McKeon, David Cunningham, Kim Hoehne and seventeen guests.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all present. President John Mandl announced the location and informed the public of the current copy of the Open Meetings Act posted in the Library meeting room.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Shad Pohlman to declare the meeting open and properly posted by advance notice in accordance with board policy #8342 with the notice and advance agenda given to the President of the board and all members prior to the meeting date. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the board agenda. AMPVF-MC.

Minutes from the April 13, 2015 regular board meeting accepted by the Secretary.

A public forum was held. Guests, including four boy scouts and their leaders, were welcomed. Two correspondences were read.

Elementary Principal Mary McKeon reported on Loyalty Day, Keep Nebraska Beautiful Day, NeSA assessment update, and kindergarten roundup. Two teachers presented on the RTI program. Mary McKeon gave the annual Special Education comprehensive report.

Secondary Principal David Cunningham reported on certified staff resignations, certified staff contracts for the 2015-2016 school year, staff appreciation meal; additional employment contracts for the 2015-2016 school year, and FBLA State Leadership Conference results with students qualified for FBLA National Convention. Mr. Cunningham along with two representatives for the Secondary parent/teacher support group reported on recent meetings of the newly established group.

Superintendent Michael Sieh reported on the middle school heating & air project, high school air project, results of the annual walk around, special education van purchase, amendment of the qualified capital fund budget, monthly bills, and upcoming conferences.

Motion was made by Shad Pohlman, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve the Special Education school improvement action plan. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Lisa Wilke to accept the resignations of Jacob Barry and Amanda Dahlkoetter with regrets AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Lisa Wilke, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to approve the contracts for the 2015-2016 school year between the school district and Karla Renn for Business Education Instructor; Lindra Fernau for Guidance Counselor; Rachel Miller for English Instructor; and Logan DeBower for Elementary Instructor. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Bret Burtwistle to approve the Additional Employment Contracts between the school district and Melora Hirschman; Morgan Schwartz; Lindra Fernau; and Rick Spotanski for the 2015-2016 school year. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Shad Pohlman to congratulate the following students along with their sponsor Susan Seeman for qualifying for the National FBLA Conference: Shayla Mandl & Journee Trimble in Business Presentation (State Champions), Tommie Brechbill in Economics (3rd Place), and Tommie Brechbill, Sally Brechbill & Ashley Colwell in Sports and Entertainment Management (3rd Place), Jorge Hernandez in Cyber Security (Honorable Mention), Ariel Zach & Page Thelen in Entrepreneurship (7th Place). AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Kirk Van Pelt, seconded by Lisa Wilke to contribute \$5,500 to the FBLA organization to assist in costs associated with their National Convention. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Kirk Van Pelt to accept the bid from Woodhouse Auto Family for a 2015 Dodge Grand Caravan SE in the amount of \$21,959.00. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Bret Burtwistle, seconded by Wendy Benson to approve the resolution of the adoption of the 2014-2015 amended budget. AMPVF-MC.

Motion was made by Shad Pohlman, seconded by Wendy Benson to a) approve & authorize payment for District #3 bills presented at this meeting; b) accept the Activity Account Reports; c) accept the Treasurer's Report; d) accept the Account Summary Report; and e) accept the of Revenue Report. AMPVF-MC.

The next regular monthly meeting will be June 8, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School /Middle School Library. The meeting was duly adjourned at 8:30 p.m.

Dated this 12th of May, 2015. Signed:

Michael J. Sieh, Secretary Stanton Community Schools Stanton, NE 68779-0749

(Pub. May 20, 2015)